It was like you fell down from the sky,

just out of absolute nowhere –

probably just a funny coincidence if anything.

How was I supposed to know that you would become my best friend?

 

My hero.

My Raggedy Man.

My fist true friend.

The closest thing I have ever come to having a brother.

 

It began with a handshake,

and now here we are today –

one failed writing club and five food outings later…

and God knows how many late night chats,

and early morning locker room talks,

and about a million bags of chicken shop chips later.

After all the pain I have been through

and all the insecurities I have felt,

and all of the darkness in my heart –

 

How could you still care for this lost soul?

 

My hero.

My Raggedy Man.

My fist true friend.

The closest thing I have ever come to having a brother,

come to save me time-and-time again –

how many of my battles have we now fought together and won?

 

How many of those did we lose?

Practically none.

 

You have taught me so much,

and now I can sometimes do it on my own,

but other times I still need you by my side.

 

You are like the rain in my life

after a long summer’s draught.

You are like the thunder that allows the storm

to end faster.

You are the star in the dark night sky

that I can follow when I am lost at sea.

You are the sunlight that allows me to grow

on a warm Summer’s day,

blowing a breeze to help me keep hope.

 

You are my hero.

You are my Raggedy Man.

You are my fist true friend.

The closest thing I have ever come to having a brother,

and it all began on September 11th 2016.

The year from fiery Hell, with a day that belongs to the grace of Heaven.

 

We have laughed together,

mainly I have cried whilst we were together.

We have eaten a hell of a lot of great food together,

and also a bit of pretty damn good writing

(whilst forever getting sidetracked).

We have smiled together,

I have become a better person because of you,

when that Old Me disappeared.

Only you were there to help me pick up the pieces.

 

It is not easy to be alone,

it is not easy to not have friends.

And then whether it be fate or coincidence

(or even if they be the same thing) –

You are the one who saved me

in order for me to save myself.

We did it together.

 

I am so glad,

lucky

and grateful

to have you in my life.

 

You are not just part of my routine,

you are an actual part of my life.

You I trust above all others,

you already own a piece of my own.

And then there’s our little blue box,

our good luck charm –

or, actually, our comfort charm.

 

For you are my hero.

You are my Raggedy Man.

You are my fist true friend.

You are my brother.

And I do not want to ever lose you,

but whatever happens we’ve got each other –

no matter what, my best friend.

